Lil' Son Jackson Capitol Blues Collection - The Complete Imperial Recordings
2-CD, 1995, Compilation, Special Edition, Digipak

Herstellungsland Großbritannien
Zeit k.A.
EAN-Nr. 724383174423
Label/Labelcode Capitol RECORDS / LC 0148
Plattenfirma/Katalog-Nr. Capitol Records / 8 31744 2
Musikrichtung Blues: Texas Blues
Sammlungen Gesucht Flohmarkt
1 0 0


I = Instrumental L = Live B = Bonustrack H = Hidden Track C = Coversong
CD 1
Track Titel Zeit Besonderheit
1. Ticket Agent Blues
2. True Love Blues
3. Evening Blues
4. Spending Money Blues
5. Tough Luck Blues
6. Peace Breaking People
7. Rockin' And Rollin'
8. Two Timin' Woman
9. Rocky Road
10. Disgusted
11. Travelin' Alone
12. New Year's Resolution
13. Young Woman's Blues
14. Mr. Blues
15. Time Changes Things
16. Wondering Blues
17. Restless Blues
18. All Alone
19. Everybody's Blues
20. Travelin' Blues
21. Stop For The Red Light
22. Aching Heart
23. Upstairs Boogie
24. All My Love
25. My Little Girl
26. Big Gun Blues
27. Get High Everybody
CD 2
Track Titel Zeit Besonderheit
1. Let Me Down Easy
2. My Younger Day
3. I Wish To Go Home
4. Black And Brown
5. Journey Back Home
6. Sad Letter Blues
7. Rockin' And Rollin' #2
8. Lonely Blues
9. Freight Train Blues
10. How Long
11. Good Ole Wagon
12. Blues By The Hour
13. Pulp Wood Boogie
14. Losin' My Woman
15. Trouble Don't Last Always
16. Movin' To The Country
17. Thrill Me Baby
18. Confession
19. Doctor, Doctor
20. Piggly Wiggly
21. Dirty Work
22. Little Girl
23. Big Rat
24. Sugar Mama
25. Messin' Up
26. Prison Bound
27. Rolling Mill
28. Can't Keep A Good Man Down


Two-disc, 55-track compilation of material from the first half of the 1950s. This is blues in the transition from the country to the city, and indeed, much of the first disc lacks a rhythm section, although electric guitar is present. Jackson actually sounds considerably more comfortable when working in a Lightnin' Hopkins mode. In fact, the sides with full accompaniment sometimes sound like the band is uncomfortable with band arrangements. On some sides, the drummer seems to have his mind on another session; others boast tentative saxophone that borders on the haphazard. Jackson's subdued, countrified approach actually sounded a bit anachronistic even when these cuts were laid down, though the sloppiness does suit the atypical "Drinkin' Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee" knockoff "Get High Everybody." At any rate, it's acceptable but somewhat journeyman stuff with a lack of variation that gets tiresome over the course of several dozen tracks, although some of the band-less sides, like "Thrill Me Baby" (with dreamy slide guitar licks) and "Movin' to the Country," hit a very good groove. ~ Richie Unterberger

Recorded between 1950 and 1954. Includes liner notes by Mark Humphrey.

All tracks have been digitally remastered.

Personnel includes: Lil' Son Jackson (vocals, guitar); Al Calloway, Boston Smith (piano).

Living Blues (9-10/95, pp.84-86) - "...With this stellar compilation, Capitol producer/compiler Pete Welding grants this late Texas blues great the recognition he's long deserved."

Product Details

Label Capitol Blues Collection
Orig Year 1995
Discs 2
Release Date Jun 20, 1995
Studio/Live: Studio
Mono/Stereo: Mono
Producer Pete Welding (Compilation)
Personnel Boston Smith - piano
Lil' Son Jackson - vocals, guitar
Al Calloway